Does The Simple Things Get You Down?

When all else fails, read the instructions.

Am I in over my head? For most of my life, I had no self confidence and I never felt like I was good enough. In the past few years, I have tried very hard to look at my good qualities. I am smart, even it I sometimes lack common sense. I am not physically strong, but I have mental and emotional, usually, strength. I can read anything and usually comprehend it. Sometimes I revert back to that girl that can’t seem to do anything. Every term, something happens, usually it is something simple, that causes me to be that girl.

Usually, it doesn’t take me long to get the hang of whatever it is I am learning and I even enjoy it. Yesterday, I started a new term. This one is all technical. Foundations of IT and Foundations of Programming Using Visual Basic. I have been very excited about both courses, especially Visual Basic. Of course for that course, I have to have Visual Studio 2010. I seemed to be rolling along nicely on this term, reading the chapters in the etextbooks for both classes and was understanding most of everything.

I quickly found the program and downloaded it as soon as I knew what version I needed. Then it happened. I could not get the program to work. I kept thinking to myself, I can do this. However, nothing I tried seemed to work. Nearly in tears, I called my sister. I knew she would remind me that I am “smart” and I can do this. I finally decided to walk away. All day, I am in over my head kept playing in my mind over and over. If I can’t even get the program to work, then what business do I have being a IT student. I decided I would have to call tech support today, something I am proud of not having to do yet.

I couldn’t sleep last night. No surprise there. However, I kept thinking about this situation. I grabbed my laptop and glanced at my receipt. Oh, it had instructions. “Instructions: Burning the .ISO/.IMG file onto a disc.” Duh, no wonder it couldn’t work. Now I am not one to say duh often but reading instructions, especially when it is only one simple statement, is kind of obvious.

There are times when frustration gets the better of us. We tend to let it undermine our abilities and self confidence. During those times, you should not let it get you down. Walk away, re read your paperwork. or even find that one person that will boost your ego (Thanks, Tammy, my sister and ego booster). It usually is something simple, like reading instructions, that has tripped you up.

Leave a Reply

